Skip to main content


Who We Are

The Authority was established in July 2000 by State Assembly Bill 807 in order to “identify, evaluate, fund, and implement flood prevention and control strategies in the Pajaro River Watershed, on an intergovernmental basis.

The watershed covers areas of four counties and four water districts and the Board is comprised of one representative from each of the eight following agencies:

  • County of Monterey
  • County of San Benito
  • County of Santa Clara
  • County of Santa Cruz
  • Monterey County Water Resources Agency
  • San Benito County Water District
  • Santa Clara Valley Water District
  • Santa Cruz County Flood Control and Water Conservation District, Zone 7

What We Do

The Authority acts as a governing body through which each member organization can participate and contribute to finding a method to provide flood protection in the watershed and promote general watershed interests. In addition to flood protection, some identified benefits could include:

  • Municipal, agricultural, and industrial water supply
  • Groundwater recharge
  • Support of rare, threatened, or endangered species
  • Migration and spawning of aquatic organisms
  • Preservation of wildlife habitat
  • Water quality